The Lotus Cars Community banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Absolute power does what?
3,201 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I may have said that recently to Frank Amoroso in an email to which he commented "that would be a fun LT thread". So here it is, go.

Not sure what the point of the thread is - hell maybe it'll die in a day or maybe it'll be the next "funniest comment about your car" thread.

I'll start with how I rationalized my Exige. I had been doing HPDE/Track Days for about 3 years. I started in a 350Z which I put into a wall at 9k miles (my 2nd season - simple/rookie mistake). After that I went to a Subaru Legacy Spec.B that I heavily modified for track duty. I wanted the all-in-one Colorado car. Something AWD that I could drive/track in the snow, drive to work and then blast around on the track faster than 911s.

After tracking the Spec.B for 2 seasons it was killing me on consumable costs. I would go through a brand new set of rotors in 3 track days, pads in 4. The expense and PITA factors were killing me and I was driving at the limits of the car. What to do, what to do - I know, buy a track car!

I searched for a few months and wound up trading my Spec.B in on my Exige at Fox Valley (before they folded). So yes, I bought my Exige to *save* money as consumables would be far cheaper. And they are. Of course the $50k I've spent on my car since buying it, well, wasn't.

So there's my story - what's yours? Why did you get your car? How did you rationalize it? Did you have a fight with a wife/SO that you had to *win*? Does your wife/SO want you to get rid of the car, if so what's your justification for keeping it??

Go!

-Ross

·
Registered
293 Posts