The Lotus Cars Community banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
64 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,
Noob here and hopefully acquiring my first Elise this week. I have been lurking awhile. I do have a few questions, is there any way to decode the VIN to determine a cars options? Such as Touring or Track or both? I have located a one owner elise that is for sale at a non-lotus dealer. The car was acquired through auction by the dealer 2 months ago. It was purchased in April 06 at Chriswell and lived its life in Centerville Va (very close to VIR...hmmmm). As a matter of fact it has an extinguisher already mounted but aside from that appears stock. Any worries if this car has seen track work? I can tell it has the Touring pack, leather yada yada. And it does have black wheels that might indicate the track pack. The tires however ar not A048s. I am sure these were replaced by the PO as the tires appear new, but are the touring tires. The car has about 8000 miles on it with a scratch on the front of the right rear wheel arch, in the paint and the starshield. Also there are a couple of scratches along the lower portion of the front fascia. The color is CO which is the primary color I am leaning towards with black leather, soft top and no hardtop(sigh can always purchase later). The carfax came back clean, that doesn't realy mean much. I have asked the the dealer to have a ECU dump performed at the Lotus dealer about an hour away from them, as well as going over the car. I still have not heard back from them on this yet. Also is there anything under the driver and passenger door sills that would require the sill covers to be removed? The reason I ask is the passenger door sill had about a foot of the weather striping hanging out that ripped off when the passenger door was opened, and it appears the drivers side has been off as well. Sorry for all the questions.

Thanks
Lane

·
Registered
4,985 Posts