The Lotus Cars Community banner

1 - 20 of 56 Posts

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok. After two days of work I was able to remove the factory Alpine 505 junk pos and install the Pioneer AppRadio. First thing I have been doing radio installs for over 10 years and let me tell you it is not easy on this car for many reasons which I won't cover on this thread.

The radio looks like it was meant to be in this car. Honestly looks wise it matches the interior perfectly. As far as the radio itself its Awesome! If you have an iPhone this thing is really a dream. Highly recommended!

BTW while doing the install, most of the factory Alpine wiring was zip tied throughout the whole dash. I left the factory wiring intact since I don't like hack jobs when people mess with the cars original wiring. As far as wiring the Pioneer I tapped into the original harness without cutting it.

Attachments

·
Disciple of Chapman
1,620 Posts
Looking Good. I love the pioneer stuff. My Evora came without the Tech package, so first thing was to replace the factory unit (what a pile of crap) :mad:
I went with the Pioneer AVH-P8400BH. it has all the features of the standard headunits plus the AppRadio2 features.
I have found I really do not like the appradio. Seems very clunky. What has your experience been? The headunit is awesome with lots of connectivity adn a strong DAC.
Should have been obvious when I installed but the navigation does not work well unless you have your iPhone sitting out, but when I installed teh radio I ran all teh cable to the glove box. now if I want to use nav I have to let my phone hang out of the glove box.
O my unit many of the app features do not work unless the carparking brake is on. Not only does the parking brake have to be on you also have to touch the stadard brake twice, so a simple parking brake buypass will not work. I had no make a special switch to be able to use the "app mode" while driving.:mad:

my install