The Lotus Cars Community banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
first off i love Europa's and I've always wanted one. This car is basically being given to me.

I wont bore you with the details, but its in pieces. I don't know much about it. I can tell its a single cam and S2. It ran before they took it apart. The only things that really look apart are the entire interior and the exterior trim. The Carb is off it and it doesn't run. I'm towing the car to my house to look at it further.

I'm a mechanic and i specialize in European cars, specifically more modern Audi's, but i have a good amount of experience with MGs and I've done my share of custom builds. I also have access to a full shop.

So for now, i have one worst case question..

In case the motor or trans is not salvageable and also because I'll probably want to do it eventually anyways. I'd like hear advise on motor swaps. I've looked into it and i cant find much expect finished projects. people say Zetec or Toyota, but what engine specifically? Where can i buy one? Is there mount kits? or is this all custom fab work? If so what needs to be made?

What i really need to know is what is the cheapest, easiest motor/possibly trans to swap that will still get me some HP?

I have access to a lot of Audi 1.8t motors and mods. The drive train would work theoretically since it's a longitudinal engine and trans with axles coming out of the sides. but I'm really not trying to do a long frustrating custom build. (making the shift linkage alone for that, ugh).

thank you all in advance, i am greatly looking forward to this.

·
Registered
249 Posts