The Lotus Cars Community banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm investigating buying an Elise in a different state. I've never done this before. I'm not financing the vehicle. How do sellers typically prefer payment? I don't bank with a bank that has a branch in the likely selling location.

I suppose I could get a cashiers check, but since I won't know the exact figure to make it out for, how would that work?

·
Registered
67 Posts
Cashier's check may work if the seller agrees. Some sellers won't accept them though. Cash is king. It is very nerve-racking walking around with that amount of cash, but it's the easiest way. If you bring cash, meet. In. Public... Very. Public.

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
gaah. I can't really imagine taking 30k to another city by plane and walking around in areas I'm not familiar with. yikes.

·
Registered
67 Posts
I was in that exact situation. Airlines require you declare any cash in excess of $10,000 that you are carrying. That coupled with the fact I hate airport security I opted to rent a one-way car and make a day of it.

I also shared the Google location of my phone with a couple friends that were informed as to what I was up to. This along with one other security measure, I felt a little better about my cargo.

·
Registered
2,256 Posts
Depending on the state I would never travel with money, OK for example.

The only way I would want to be paid is wire/cash. And the only way I would pay is wire. Although when I bought my exige the seller insisted on a cashiers check, which I guess is fine, but dumb of the seller.

·
Registered
109 Posts
A bank wire is the only way I would do this. I bank with Fidelity and can initiate a wire online. If you do it before a certain time it's basically instant. You can even do it in front of the seller if it makes them more comfortable. I'm not carrying that much cash on me for any reason in an age of digital banking.

·
Registered
367 Posts