The Lotus Cars Community banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
129 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello. I am not new but this is my first new-thread post. I am a US soldier that just returned from 15 months in Iraq. I have been following this website for months while deployed and finally registered in APR 09. I am interested in purchasing a new or low-mileage 2008 Exige S240 (2008 to save some $$$$). I have a 93 Toyota MR2 (my 1st "war trophy" which I bought new after returning from the war in Panama, and still love) and a 2003 100th Anniversary Harley Davidson (my 2nd "war trophy" also purchased new after returning from Iraq in 2003) so am not concerned about a "daily driver". I am curious about several other things. First-Reliability. I know that negatives always seem to post more than positives on any subject, but is there an EXPECTATION that something annoying/expensive will go wrong with the car? Second-The car is very light. Will a LSD or traction control help with traction in bad weather or are these really only for track use. Third-Will adding aftermarket sound-proofing help decrease the sound in the driver compartment. Fourth-I will consider a low-mileage 2007 but dont like the short air intake. Can a 2007 be fitted with an S240 roof (full length intake). Fifth- Is the extra 20HP in the S240 REALLY that noticeable when driving it (compared to the 220HP 2007 S) and worth the extra $$$$? Thanks for the input.

·
Registered
6,981 Posts
1. Yes, something will go wrong with the car. Your odds are decent that it will only be a loose screw inside the door, but some people have had worse.

2. Traction control may help in bad weather, although you could achieve almost the same result by being gentler on the throttle pedal. LSD arguably might make things worse in bad weather.

3. Sound deadening? Sure, if you put enough material in, and you put it in all the right places, it will make the cabin area quieter.

4. Yes, the roofs are interchangeable.