Votes: 7 100.0%
  • Other issue?

Votes: 0 0.0%
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
583 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ive waited to post this information till the smoke has cleared and I gave motovicity distribution and quaife UK a shot to remedy the situation. Both have failed to take any recourse or offer and restitution.

Ill first say I am a certified master mechanic and have made a very good living in the auto industry. My account of the problem is not guestimation but years of experience.

Over the winter I had a new quaife diff installed in my 2005 Elise trans. Its a straight forward job but requires a special tool so I had another shop do it. During the time the trans was out I supercharged the car and installed 1 rear motor mount. I changed nothing about the suspension or geometry of the car. I received the trans back, Installed it with new circlips and all looked good for the first 10 miles. I took the car for a shake down run, pulled off the highway and "bang" the car stopped moving. Turns out the axle had snapped. Not from power, but due to it pulling out to the end snapping near the circlip. I towed the car, contacted the installation shop of the diff and quaife and both said "maybe it wasnt seated properly".(see picture)

I bought another axle, installed it with another new circlip and a fresh seal . This time time I double checked it with a prybar to assure the axle was seated properly. It would not come out. But it did move back and forth .240" from its full in seated position to its pulled out by hand extended position. This struck me as odd and excessive but I was assured by motovicity's ace that it was normal. (see pictures)