The Lotus Cars Community banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I've been sort of hankering after an Esprit V8 for a while.
There's an 01 been sitting at a dealer in Pa for some time now.
Price doesn't ~seem~ that bad. Color isn't thrilling, but it's not awful.
They are about 3 hours away from me so it's not something one idly drops in on - plus I'm not a marque expert on Lotii, I'm better on older Brit stuff.

Anyone have prior dealings with this vendor?
Wondering if there's an obvious problem with it, or if it's just a bad time to be selling toy cars. If the latter and no-one's been ripped off by them previously, then I might have to take a drive out there.

·
Wingless Wonder
5,444 Posts
Hey Alan, If you haven't yet registered on the LotusPALS website (the local club, Philadelphia Area Lotus Society) do it! I'm sure that someone local has experience with that dealer.

In fact, PALS member Steve Harris just bought a 2003 V8 over the summer. I know he looked at a LOT of cars, so he might offer some insight.

·
Registered
265 Posts
Now what may one question about a Dealer? …..are they trustworthy?...>...come on, they're a dealer. ….maybe I could haggle with 'em a little?...>..they're a dealer so, of course and the car's been sitting a little time. …..if people don't have too much bad to say about them, does that mean the car's just fine?...>...how would those people know? ….does the car have some hidden flaw?....>…..it's 20 years old, so what do you think? ….is the title clean?....>….fair question but there are ways to check that out before you would buy it. …..is there a lot of past paperwork on the car?.....> ask to see it. ......…will the car pass whatever, if any, pollution stuff applies in my State?.....ask 'em.