The Lotus Cars Community banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
109 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I had a slight leak in my factory radiator so I went ahead and put in a Pro Alloy single pass unit along with top mount fans. I had read some comments that the top mount fans would reduce A/C performance but others had said it made no difference so I took the gamble. After putting everything back together and bleeding the system, I've been driving around for a couple months and I can now say for certain that I have higher coolant temps as well as poorer A/C performance.

Prior to radiator replacement, my Elise would typically sit at 178-182F coolant temp with the A/C off and moving at speed. This would go up to 184-187 when the A/C was on. Now, I'm seeing 186-192F when cruising steady with the A/C. If I'm driving at lower neighborhood speeds, I've seen 197-210F. The radiator is hot on both sides and all bleed screws spray solid coolant when opened.

I used to get 5 minutes of fantastic A/C performance until the thermostat opened and hot radiator exit air made its way into the climate distribution compartment. I actually had a compliment from someone of how cold the A/C (initially) blew. Now, it's just OK while the car is warming up which drops to poor when it gets heated by the coolant. Note: I performed the heater core bypass and insulated the climate compartment while the clam was off so it should be better than before.