The Lotus Cars Community banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Premium Member
598 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
re: Gas Additive for Protection?

Can anyone recommend a gas additive that will protect the fuel system and engine from gasoline sitting in a tank for months at a time? I'm not looking for an octane booster, but rather something that will protect components from potentially harmful moisture that may build up in today's ethonal gasolines.

Some of the top options I have been reading:

1. Do Not Add Anything.
2. Amsoil Quickshot Fuel Additive.
3. Redline S1 Fuel Additive.
4. Chevron Techron Fuel System Cleaner.

Thanks,
vincesf

·
www.theapexinn.com
11,687 Posts
Stabil. I've been using it for many years. Works perfect.

·
Registered
2,250 Posts
Stabil is very good. Available at most auto parts stores.
Sea Foam is a second choice, Available at many auto parts stores

·
Premium Member
6,593 Posts
Stabil is the standard for fuel preservation. The others you mentioned are cleaners not preservatives. If you burn a tank/month you're fine, otherwise use Stabil. I store cars for winter with it every year.

·
Registered
1,301 Posts
Don't use ethanol gas? :shrug:

Dunno how it is for everyone else, but all we have is straight gas, no ethanol mix.

·
Premium Member
2,819 Posts
I had heard this from the guys at PepBoys:

Marine Formula STA-BIL Ethanol Treatment & Performance Improver contains DOUBLE the corrosion preventers and more than FOUR TIMES the fuel system cleaner than in Regular STA-BIL to prevent against corrosion and deposit build up in Marine Engines.

Here is their 411 on Ethanol.

http://http://www.goldeagle.com/mobile/411_on_ethanol.aspx

·
Registered
1,301 Posts
So does everything I own and I don't put anything in the gas. TADTS I have quite a bit of seasonal equipment that just gets parked. Some of my mowers might sit a year or two before used, same with snowblowers, gen set, etc.