1 - 20 of 119 Posts

·
Registered
6,601 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Really Light Stuff Undertray Closeout Panels by NCI

MSRP: $249

Fits both Elise and Exige.

Benefits: improved airflow and downforce by reducing turbulence and increasing the low pressure area under the Elise and Exige.

Total weight: 1 lb 6 oz.

The panels use backing panels so that they fit flush with the rest of the underbody for best airflow.

Now shipping!

Kevin from North Coast Innovations (NCI), a race car fabricator, is behind these. As always, his work is impeccable.

Attachments

·
Registered
527 Posts
I am not an aerodynamic engineer but how much resistance are the panel mounts creating in comparison to the savings in using the panel?

·
Registered
9,786 Posts
I'm assuming that those mounts are just for demonstration purposes and are not part of the final design...

The guys at ReVerie claim that this mod helps the undertray/diffuser create a lot more downforce and reduces a bit of drag... most aero devices that create downforce <b>increase</b> drag... so mods like this are considered "free" downforce

Will this work with the various factory suspensions (i.e. shocks)... I thought the droop of the lower A arm would interfere unless you're using shocks with shorter free lengths.

Very interested, and subscribed

·
Registered
6,601 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Guys - those are not the mounts that are on the final product. Those are just to hold the panel in place for fitment during the design stage.

These panels work with the stock suspension or any others. Under full droop, the panels flex a bit to accommodate that condition. Since these will be aluminum, they will be an affordable price.

·
Registered
1,527 Posts
Does the lower arm come in contact when shocks are unbound when the car is lifted? I was under the impression that they were dragging in clean air under normal weight.

·
Registered
1,826 Posts