The Lotus Cars Community banner

1 - 20 of 64 Posts

·
Registered
170 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ive read postings here and other places saying that a rollcage in a dual purpose road/track car will add risk on the road due to potential for non protected head collision (not wearing a helmet on road or using a harness)

I get the fundamental idea that a 3 point seatbelt will allow more body movement which could make the likelihood of head to rollcage collison higher than if a harness is used.

Im an engineer and so tend to over think things over/through - so heres my thoughts on this - Im posting here to see what people think in case ive missed something or just to get general feedback/opinion.

Some background:

The rollcage Im looking at is a JAF approved cage that doesnt have a diagonal roof bar. See attached (roof not fitted).

So here we go:

The side bar (running across the door top) is running flush to the roof line so effectively in the event of a crash the head is now a few inches closer to an imovable object. My thinking on this design rollcage is:

Head impacting to side bar:

1) Im wondering if you will actually sustain less head injury from contacting with a foam covered bar than you will a fiberglass hardtop. (try hitting your shin with a piece of 4x4 with or without a thin foam cover and see what a big difference even a thin foam covering it makes) Theres only a few inches of clearance between the head and roof anyway so your heads going to hit the roof anyway. Im wondering if having less clearance and having a foam to cushion the impact could actually be benficial.

2) The closer proximity to the head will mean less momentum is built up (by the mass of the head as it moves) before it contacts - which I suspect would reduce injury to the head and the reduction in torque may help reduce extent of neck injury.

Head impacting to front cross bar (across windscreen top):