The Lotus Cars Community banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
580 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So this was my experience on my 2005. Your experience may (probably wont) vary. When they say micro, they were not kidding. Its like 3" wide and 1.5" high. The mirror is very well made. Its aluminum and machined nicely. This mirror requires you to remove the old mirror to install. This is where things started going bad for me. I am a fairly accomplished mechanic. I know my limits and mirrors.... are within them. Long story shortened, I released the holding clip and tried to remove the mirror and the windshield broke... In fairness there was already a small star from rock damage but I did not apply very much force and the window cracked. So Today I had the glass replaced, Let me recommend you make ALOT of calls and find an experienced repair man. This was definitely the glass guys first time with a lotus as he asked me over the phone if this was a glass roof he was replacing. Together we got the new glass in. I then proceeded to remove the button and mirror from the old glass. I again realeased the tab and could not budge the mirror. I used a brass drift and still could not get the button to budge. Finally in frustration I cracked the button off the glass. I then used a punch and hammer to knock the button free. It was beyond a tight fit. I have no doubt this could not be removed while still on the car. Is this a product of age or previous repairs? who knows. So final results, the micro mirror is in and it looks good. Very limited rear visibility (as if it was any good before) but will work for me. What did I learn from this ? That my old mirror wasnt bad enough to warrant this hassle.

·
Premium Member
210 Posts