The Lotus Cars Community banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
298 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just installed the shifter reinforcer and I am quite pleased with the product. I actually bought it several months ago but never got around to installing it. I could quickly tell that it was more stable around the shifter area. The installation was easy enough...took me about me 2 hours to install. I'm a mechanical newb so for those who are not, it might go a lot faster. Shifting feels better but its no honda. I'd highly recommend this product!

·
Registered
07 Exige S
1,557 Posts
oh yeah I did the same. Had it sitting around for almost a year and did Stan's shifter mod as well. ( Do ) Then I had the bug and got the Redline and Synchromesh route ( Do ) with Jim's big shifter ball. ( maybe do ) All made a difference, but sans LETSA, I am going to go with the shifter cable and maybe cross shifter when wrap it up.

If it all makes it better maybe it will be good enuf ! Chasing rabbits down holes with these dang cars ! It was so pathetic before I started though and yeah the Shifter reinforcer + Stans mods +1

·
Premium Member
2,637 Posts
Good call Spartacus, expect to drill out the rivets on one side of the frame to remove the original bar.

·
Registered
972 Posts
I had the re-inforcer installed + SSC gear shift cable + new engine mounts installed this weekend and spent today breaking everything in/testing. So far I'm real happy with it, the engine mounts (BOE/Innovative) make quite a difference and the re-inforcer definitely helps. The SSC shifter cable seems to make a bit of difference but it's subtle compared to what I was expecting.

I think with a Letsla setup it'd be more pronounced - and not even sure if the SSC/Letsla play nice together. I think it's just one of those things that's made to beef up what should have probably come from the factory (the gear shift cable that is).

But the Re-inforcer is like night/day :up: