The Lotus Cars Community banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
49 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Thought this might be an interesting topic. I've been riding MTB for many years, some racing, and now that I have an Exige S and starting (JUST starting!) to learn how to drive, I see so many similarities. So in the hopes others might be interested, I'll get things rolling.

My bike (Giant Anthem Zero) is an XC race model with very limited suspension travel. It rides quite stiff, not like a hardtail though. Cornering is all about weight management. Generally, initial brake-in (and/or weighting the handlebars) helps the front tire bite and track, then a smooth transfer of weight to the rear brings the back end around (and prevents one from flying over the bars). Of course technique varies depending on terrain, other riders, etc., but I'm enjoying experimenting with applying weight-management driving techniques to the MTB, and vice versa. For example, I've been playing with trail-braking on the bike. Never tried that before.

But what about that intial weighting of the front? It seems like something you want in a car, to prevent understeer when you're beginning a turn. Brake in (weight in front), accelerate out (weight moves to rear) is what I hearing & reading is the desired sequence of events. Listen I know this is probably REALLY basic stuff, but for myself and anyone else who thinks of these similarities between driving and MTB technique, it would be best to know now if any assumptions are incorrect and could lead to bad (and dangerous) habits.

Another similarity for me is the steering. I'm used to handling the rigid feel of the MTB bars, which I apply to the Lotus. A firm but light enough grip to LET the steering wheel do its minor vibrations, rather than try to control it via a deathgip, seems to help me corner smoother.