The Lotus Cars Community banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
6,802 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'll throw this topic out for discussion. No experience with cloth tops. The Brits us a product I think called Fabsil?? Comes in spray on and paint on. Don't know if that's available here. Im guessing it's like a 3m scotchguard, as it seems to make the water bead off and not pool on the top. I figure once a year or so to spray on the scotchguard. The manual just mentions to keep it clean but nothing about any sprayons.

Chris

·
Registered
1,834 Posts
here's a post from another site I read:

Disclaimer: I am not a professional detailer nor an expert on cloth top care. I’m just a charter member of the ARZOA who has owned several canvas topped cars over the years.

Cloth Top Care

Do not wash the cloth top except when needed, and then use only RaggTopp Cleaner. Vacuum the top before washing your car. be careful to not get any car wash mixture on the top as it will remove some of the protectant (dish detergent will remove all of it!).

Routine cloth top cleaning is vacuuming with a brush attachment. This should be done before each car wash and after driving in dusty areas. Washing should be done only if the top has become dirtied with bird droppings, tree sap, soot fallout, mud, etc.

Cloth Top Washing