The Lotus Cars Community banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to the Lotus Exige S - so am fumbling my way around at the moment.
Just had my first two days at VIR with the car and was very impressed. I'm an experienced driver but would like some information on the Lotus. I've done a few searches but came up short on some of what I'm looking for.

Stock 2007 Exige running Ohlin's shocks. I don't know the spring rates - but they feel quite soft. Volk Racing 15" and 16" (245's) wheels shod with Hoosier R6's. Left rear wheel rubs and smokes in right handers. Not too bad, but annoying and smelly. I did find some track set-up specs for caster and camber on the board and we did set the car up to those. I guessing it's stock ride height.

1. What sort of spring rate should I be using for a 190# driver?
2. What are the optimum tire pressures for the Hosier R6's ?
3. Is there a chip or re-flash to bump up the power? If so, whose to use?
4. What's a good track exhaust to use? I heard the Larinni's are very loud?

This is not a track only car and will be driven on the street - but not a lot.

Any idea what a decent lap time at VIR should be? I got some - and will post later. Spencer Pumpelly of TRG racing also drove the car - and was suitably impressed. He loved the car. And yes, I have his lap time too.

Any help would be most appreciated.

Gordon.

·
Registered
2,202 Posts
1. Im running the Nitron Sports with 525F and 650R. Its pretty stiff and reduces much of the body roll. The higher spring rates do seem to make the car loose on corner exit if the track is bumpy. Doesn't bother me though as I feel its worth the flatter cornering.

2. Have no idea, Im still running RA1's or R888's.