The Lotus Cars Community banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
1,086 Posts
Sorry I can’t help with Evora sizes, but I’ve been using them for about 20 years, first on my Miata then on my Exige, they’ve always worked fine. I’ve never had one break or leak, or otherwise need replacement.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
2017 Evora 400
1,368 Posts
I have never understood the need for speed bleeders. From what I understand, with them, you put a hose on them, hose in a jar, crack the nipple, pump the brakes, close the nipple. Without speed bleeders you put a hose on them, hose in a jar, crack the nipple, pump the brakes, close the nipple. I just did a brake job on the ZAV (LX470) consisting of a new $1500 MC/accumulator/pump assembly, new rear calipers and bled the system with about 2 quarts of DoT4. Yeah, that's what it takes to do one of these beasts. No speed bleeders and don't see how they would have helped. And for the hose, I have found a Nasal Canula (O2) hose to be PERFECT for the job. Fits nice and snug on the nipple, any length you want to go into the jar. Heck, put 10' of hose on it and watch the bubbles go past the car door as you pump. No more bubbles? Done.

·
Registered
2014 Evora S
87 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Without the speed bleeders you need someone to pump and someone else to crack-and-close. Speedbleeders make it a one-person job.

I have used the Motive pressure system on other cars but after a clamp failed and sprayed fluid all over the place I won't use it anymore.

Up next - MightyVac.

·
Registered
2017 Evora 400
1,368 Posts
My point is it is still a 1 person job without the speed bleeders if you use a hose and a jar of brake fluid.

·
Registered
1,086 Posts