The Lotus Cars Community banner

1 - 20 of 43 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey Lotus guys and gals!

I'm a happy new owner of a 2012 Evora S and love pretty much everything about the car. The looks, the power, even the finish. Except this annoying thing: the engine would crank while in gear and clutch not depressed. And the starter motor is powerful enough to move the car even with the parking brake set. Only the habit of always leaving the car in reverse gear has saved me from embarrassment of launching my 3 day old Evora into a Chrysler 200. I remember reading here that something similar has happened to another forum member during a test drive. So this must be the behavior on some (all?) Evoras. I've been driving manuals since 16 years old, every single car I've ever been in has an interlock on the clutch - such that you cannot crank the engine until you press on the clutch pedal. Is there any reason for Lotus to build Evoras without this interlock? Are there any mods out there to prevent it from starting unless you engage the clutch?

Thanks for the advice!

·
Registered
1,025 Posts
clutch safety switch.. adds too much weight . You know Collin wouldn't approve of adding weight over safety ;)

·
Premium Member
1,404 Posts
I haven't noticed such an interlock on any of my cars, but pressing the clutch does become a habit. Since Lotus minimizes country dependencies they may not install such an interlock just for US cars.

·
Registered
1,301 Posts
Every newer manual trans vehicle I have owned I've disabled that stupid clutch switch. I was glad I didn't have to on the Elise!

·
Registered
5,709 Posts
I had a service advisor at my lotus dealership start my car in gear. Fortunately I left plenty of space ahead of the wall in front of me that she didn't hit anything.