The Lotus Cars Community banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
99 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey

Ok, so to start of my story, I just purchased a unfinished project. The guy started building what could be considered a Ariel atom replica and never really finished it.

Basicly everything still needs work, but thats ok. My biggest problem is the suspension. I'm an engineer, but i'm no suspension designer. The car has suspension...but it looks like something that was made with the "this fits here...weld" mentality. I know the suspension will make or break this car. So I got thinking...what would compare, the lotus came to mind first, I had a Elise 2 years ago, so I figures I would come back. This would be the best place for help.

At this point i'm wondering if I should just try to get the dimensions off a Elise/exige and copy them exacly. I know the overall weight and everything will be off a little, but this would be a VERY good start. Unless someone here had a better idea? I'm basicly looking for suggestion. What would be my best options for a proper street/track suspension.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks for your time guys.

·
Registered
935 Posts
re: Suspension

Copying one car's suspension to another may not do the trick. It is not the weight but the geometry that is the most important.

The location of suspension pick-up (mounting) points and the width of the car is key. Also the location of the steering and toe rods in the back.

You can get parts and weld your own suspension from most racing shops e.g. HRPWorld, Howe, SCP, etc. This is not hard at all, but the geometry has to be right. The development work that goes into that is worth a lot of $$. A little difference may result in a very badly handling car.

I would pick-up a suspension book, as well.

Anton

·
Registered
99 Posts
Discussion Starter #3