The Lotus Cars Community banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
87 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My car has a crack on the back clam. I thought it was the vynal stripe at first. After changing the vynal two time, I realized that, it is the paint that has the crack.

Am I right? is it the paint? or the fiberglass?

How to fix it?

Attachments

·
www.theapexinn.com
11,689 Posts
:huh:

·
Mulholland>SCC
2,532 Posts
If you used a camera and not a camera phone, it has a macro setting. Helps with the focus. I don't have an answer to your question, but looking at your photos made my eyes hurt.

·
Registered
725 Posts
As others have said, in-focus pics would help.

Kind of looks like the same weak and impact-prone area I have been repairing on my rear clam.

I'm not a professional bodyman, but an avid hobbyist, and also an engineer by trade. Maybe others have more experience.

But in my opinion, unless its a bad paint job - you really shouldn't get cracked paint on top of fiberglass. Is it a repaint?

Metal and especially urethane bumpers can deform (plastic deformation) before cracking, thus paint cracks on top when the underlying material gives way. Fiberglass, on the other hand, doesn't really have any sort of plastic deformation before it cracks. Most composites fail through cracking (delamination, pure tension) or otherwise, rather than bending or denting.

So, if you see spidercracks on fiberglass, there is likely some sort of damage underneath. I know some have said that there is no gel coat on these cars - I disagree partly, as there is some harder white layer underneath the factory primer that is not reinforced with fiber. To me, this is a gel coat, however it was applied in the mold or afterwards (although I think the latter defies the definition of gel coat in the normal sense).