The Lotus Cars Community banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
260 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
If you're like me, you have had at least one citation for the lack of a front plate and you still have no intention of affixing it. We all know why this farce of a law is enforced, red light cameras of course.

I'm no lawyer, but I say here oh my brothers and sisters that the legal loophole is large enough to drive a truck full of Lotus cars. Scroll down for more.

1. I'll make the largest point first and then trickle down to the other details. A red light camera captures a moving violation. The ticket you receive in the mail is an UNsigned contract where you did NOT sign the "promise to appear" line. The refusal to sign at a traffic stop to promise to appear will grant you a free trip to jail. The contract is not valid. I did not promise to appear, so I won't appear.

2. The accusation comes regular mail. No certification, signature or otherwise. Therefor, there is no proof you have received it. That's it for the legality, now on to the other details to ponder:

3. If you take the time to notice, you will find that at least some of the intersections in question display a yellow light that is a FULL second shorter than those without a camera. This is highly suspect of revenue padding.

4. These cameras are sold by a vendor: Redflex who has a say to where they are placed, and gets a piece of the pie. They are in it for money, not safety.L.A. red light cameras clicking for safety or revenue? - Los Angeles Times

5. The city makes over $11,430,000 a year on these violations. Easy money.

FAQ:
-So, I got one of these tickets. What do I do? Throw it away. I have been fortunate enough to not get one of these, but one of my poorer friends did and upon my advice, it went away like a [email protected] in the wind. If I get one, I will probably frame it.