The Lotus Cars Community banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
As a noob here I am starting to loose my mind driving an Elise. This car is either the most visible car on the road with people gauking, snapping pictures from moving cars, chasing you down, etc. or it is entirely invisible. From the invisible side, it seems to be worse than riding a motorcycle! People change lanes into you, they pull out in front of you without right of way, and they encroach on you at traffic lights enough to make you moisten you seat a bit.

So what's up? Is an Elise invisible or highly visible? :shrug:

My Elise is GG which leans toward hard to see. Do owners of brightly colored Elises get the same thing? It's a real mind bender. Perhaps it's a vision related genetic condition that affects only part of the population.
:panic:

·
Registered
7,610 Posts
It's invisible to people who don't really care about cars and/or are pre-occupied with other things.

·
Registered
398 Posts
I drive a solar yellow. Together with Chrome Orange and Krypton Green they're the 3 most visible colors you can own.

My conclusion is this: People that did not see you will not see you regardless of color. I've had people almost merge into me, not notice me entirely to the point where I had to change my velocity up/down to avoid an accident, follow too close (if I can't see your headlights, you're 3 feet behind me, jackass! Not safe for 85 mph :no: )

On the opposite side, I've had people take pictures, people follow me, make stupid comments (worst I got was from a teenager leaning out a window, "Hey Rich Man, can I have 10 $?" )

I rarely get a thumbs up from someone that truly appreciates the car. A generous short thumbs up from a Miata owner towing a small trailer with 4 track wheels/tires on it makes it worthwhile.