The Lotus Cars Community banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
1,056 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Are you guys at WOT through turn 5a?

I'm still relatively new to tracking and Thill, but usually i go thou in 2nd, at about 50% throttle, short shift to third at the end of 5a and go thou 6,7,8.

I'm still not comfortable going thou it at WOT and will probably just slowly increase it till I am but was just wondering if it was possible. Oh and i'm on base suspension with AD07s.

Thanks

·
Registered
494 Posts
You're talking about the bypass sequence, right? Not the original (top of the hill) turn 5?

Coming down off the top of the hill is deceptive because you can get down a lot of power as it flattens out, and turn 6 is quick but you MUST apex is properly; otherwise you'll catch that little "point" in the kerbing and get knocked offline.

Steve

·
Registered
652 Posts
You are talking about Turns 5/5a over the hill and not bypass?
If so, yes. I stay in 3rd and after I get back on throttle at the top of the hill I do not lift till the entry to T6. I am not sure there is any benefit from going to 2nd since you are going downhill anyways and you quickly pick up speed.
T6 is very quick and, as SteveLevin said, avoid the "point" in the kerbing. I have hit it a couple of times and person behind me mentioned that the car bounced 1 foot sideways and in the air.

·
Registered
3,927 Posts
I treat it like the corkscrew at Laguna Seca, which Thill likes to loosely refers it to. I also stay in 3rd gear. Like Laguna as you drop down the suspension, heavily compress (lots of grip) and like CountTracula, am at full throttle leading up to T6.

·
Registered
2,343 Posts
5a - I enter the turn with little throttle then wot all the way down the hill.
One problem I had was hitting the same exit angle out of the turn at the crest of the hill. Used to be inconsistent and didn't want to power down and, when the road finally came into view, go off.