The Lotus Cars Community banner

1 - 20 of 49 Posts

·
Registered
2006 Lotus Exige
37 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I planed on taking my car to the track so I have been taking time to check everything out and make sure it is ready. I have had it a week and half. In that time I have kept it down to about 5K RPM on the shifts. I have only taken it to the shift light once and then after it had warmed up. I didn't want to push it till I had finished going over it. After reading about cam wipe I decided I would check to make sure all was good with my cams. Today I pulled off the valve cover and sure enough The intake cam is bad on two of the second cam (or what ever the high lobs are called) I am not amused.

I try to use only venders with a good reputation that help the community. Since I am new to the Lotus community I don't know who to use.
Could you guys help with the venders that have a good reputation?
Also I am open to any help. I will be doing the work myself so any suggestions on what all I should do will be helpful.
Right now I plan on replacing the intake cam and the rockers.

My Exige has been modded by one of the previous owners. below is a list from the thread when it was done.

Car has new motor with upgraded head (I think its a new short block and reworked head)
tvs900 SC
quaife lsd
Alitexh shifter

Thanks and sorry for the long post.

·
Super Moderator
754 Posts
I highly suggest you spend the night and then some on reading about cam wiping. Causes, fixes and prevention. As far as replacing it all recommend stock grind and better materials is always the way to go. PO of my car had it cyro and tempered treated but BOE and MWR sells a stock grind from harder stock. That would be your fastest option. Get it on order and then do a lot of reading while waiting for the part.

Reactions: Motard and 06LE

·
Registered
2006 Lotus Exige
37 Posts
Discussion Starter #4