The Lotus Cars Community banner
1 - 20 of 45 Posts

·
Registered
306 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi LT, my name is Michael Spenard and I'm an electronics engineer that's developed a system for monitoring tire temps in my Lotus Exige. I've produce a few of these kits for others and I'm now looking to offer them to the public.

Here are the features of the kit:

• Four IR sensors
  • Narrow 10deg sensor field of view for sampling tire sections
  • Large 1 1/12 by 2 1/2 inch display
  • Weather resistant; sensors can get wet without being ruined.
  • Removable lens cap if they need cleaning or replacement
  • Extra protective lenses
  • Does both fahrenheit and celsius
  • You can adjust the emissivity of each sensor (different materials reflect light at differing rates)
  • Quality harnesses
  • DC supply is designed for difficult automotive environments with large current dumps and voltage spikes

The installation is straight forward. You drill a small hole in the wheel arch for the sensor to poke through. Top center is best to account for changes in tire angle.

Four harnesses are included (two 8 footers and two 6 footers) and I can fabricate a custom harness at no extra charge.

I'm working on a nice bracket for mounting in the Elige cubby area. It'll be available soon. Anyone that purchases these will get sent one at no extra charge when they are ready.

If anyone is interested just send me a PM.

Attachments

·
Banned
3,229 Posts
Yes, us racers need to be able measure the outside shoulder, inside shoulder and middle of the tread for a total of 12 sensors...

·
Registered
306 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 · (Edited)
Right, I'm working on an upgrade kit that allows you to track camber loading through such an inference with 3 sensors per tire. A 12 sensor kit will be >$1k however.