The Lotus Cars Community banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all! Im new to the forum; however I have been creeping it for a while.

Looking for some advice from lotus owners.

I am 20 years old.
Im a succedful Realtor up here in Canada and making close to 6figures.
I am renting a place for next to nothing.
I am a true car guy, and have been around them my whole life.

I am considering purchasing a used elise, and driving it for a year or so. Then selling it and purchasing my first place. Im thinking that once I get myself tied down to a large mortgage, and living expenses a sports car will not be as accessible. I dream about owning a sports car daily. I have the means to purchase one now, and do not want to wait and have a home, and family put it off for decades.

What would you do? Buy a property in a flat market, or the car of your dreams?

Cheers,

Scott

·
Registered
182 Posts
Well now -- I would save at least 10% of my earnings each and every month, investing same for the long term, and whoop it up with the rest. This way you will be a millionaire in a short time, perhaps even a multi-millionaire with some luck.

Forget the large mortgage and strive to live simply, meaning making do with such essentials as a 3-car garage with ever-so-needed tools, if you really must purchase property. live in an adequate neighborhood and keep a low profile. Tony digs at the limit of your actual income are for suckers.

This way you will have ready cash from the remaining 90% to keep your stable running and go on cruises or to Europe with your significant others.

·
Registered
2,399 Posts
buy the lotus... save as much money as you can, and buy a house in like 5 years... if you make six figures it shouldn't be that hard to do. you dont want a house loan at that age

·
Registered
182 Posts