The Lotus Cars Community banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
502 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am currently running Rc5+ pads and they just don't seem to bite enough(can't hit ABS no matter how hard I press) I'm running R888s and have a set of R6 tires in the garage. Still running stock rotors.

Thinking about XP12 front and XP10 rear is this to aggressive or should I go with the XP10 front and XP8 rear?
Possibly upgrading to Disc Noir or sector 111 two piece rotors for the front.

Let me know your thoughts on best bang for your track focused buck.

·
Premium Member
4,101 Posts
I'm no expert but this works for me so far...........

I started out with Ferodo DS2500's on stock disks, they worked well for AutoX and my novice skills on the track, lots of dust, lots!

As my driving skills improved I had a few instructors tell me I was outgrowing my brakes and when we bought my wife's Elise it had Padgid RS4-2's and I loved them for AutoX, with very little dust.

Just did a track day with Padgid RS4-2's ( Pagid Front Brake Pads, Lotus Brakes - Blackwatch Racing ) on my Exige, with HP slotted Rotors ( BOE Fabrication - Lotus Elise, Exige, and Evora Performance ECM Tuning Products ), and vented stainless pistons ( BOE Fabrication - Lotus Elise, Exige, and Evora Performance ECM Tuning Products ) up front.

Happy with the set up, great grab when I need it, no problem hitting the ABS, very little dust, squeals a little when hot but all race brakes do that. I figure I can upgrade to full floating rotors later as my skills increase and the rotors wear out.

·
Premium Member
607 Posts
I use CL RC6 in front and RC8 in back and there is still significant front bias. I also use R888s. I recommend trying this setup or if you use carbotech, try XP12 in front and XP 20 in the rear. Lower friction compounds in the rear is just wasting rear tire traction during braking.