The Lotus Cars Community banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
106 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
OK - I am going to run my Exige (new to me) and now named the Skunk on the track at PBIR tomorrow night - expect the temperature to be in the mid eighties. I have no experience with the car or these tires. I typically run 30 & 36 on Hoosiers on my Porsche - then drop back 6 lbs after i get some temperature.... You guys got me into this - I am thinking the Skunk is going to be a lot of fun....

thanks!

Attachments

·
Registered
5,357 Posts
26F / 28R per factory recommendations.

It's maybe difficult to believe that you'd go by what the factory says, but this IS Lotus... You have to put faith in what Roger Becker and friends say.

Have fun!!!!

Cheers,
Kiyoshi

·
Registered
106 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
26F / 28R per factory recommendations.

It's maybe difficult to believe that you'd go by what the factory says, but this IS Lotus... You have to put faith in what Roger Becker and friends say.

Have fun!!!!

Cheers,
Kiyoshi
Thanks Kiyoshi! Cold or warm?

·
Registered
443 Posts
Got a pic of the front view with your silver striped Skunk? My car's black too. PS. Nice car name. LOL

·
Registered
1,022 Posts
I run 28 front/29-30 rear (hot) and the grip is fine. A pyrometer is always your best friend for adjusting tire pressures at the track (as opposed to the yahoos on this board), but the baseline I provided should be in the ballpark. Have fun.

·
Registered
3,366 Posts
Cold.

That said, most of us who ran AO48s on the track actually reduced pressures below stock (24 front and 24 rear cold) after taking measurements with probe type pyrometers. The first lap or two is kind of squishy, but then the tires get up to temp and are perfect. If you run the car very hard (which will be a bit tough if you are just starting out with the car) and run stock pressure then you will find that the wheels will get a bit greasy towards the end of a 20+ minute session.