The Lotus Cars Community banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Modern Day Hippie
3,839 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm planning to do a roadtrip and wanted to trailer my Lotus behind my Range Rover. I've never done this before and was wondering if you have a trailer do you have to drive below a certain speed?

Also, is there anyone in the bay are with a race trailer I can borrow for a week? I can compensate a bit. I'm planning on leaving this weekend or it will have to wait till the 2nd week of August.

Thanks.

·
Registered
7,708 Posts
I'm planning to do a roadtrip and wanted to trailer my Lotus behind my Range Rover. I've never done this before and was wondering if you have a trailer do you have to drive below a certain speed?

Also, is there anyone in the bay are with a race trailer I can borrow for a week? I can compensate a bit. I'm planning on leaving this weekend or it will have to wait till the 2nd week of August.

Thanks.
yes. the speed limit.

·
Forum Founder
29,081 Posts
In California, there is a 55mph speed limit for trailers and fines for speeding are doubled.

·
Registered
6,293 Posts
I...I've never done this before and was wondering if you have a trailer do you have to drive below a certain speed?
55 MPH is the max allowed in California when pulling a trailer.

·
Registered
2,108 Posts
ANd, if you didn't get it the first two times it's 55

·
Forum Founder
29,081 Posts
There is an extra hassle factor.

Gas mileage is a factor, as well as pulling into gas stations, parking at hotels, backing up a trailer. Making sure the car is well positioned on the trailer so there is proper tongue weight. Care and feeding of the trailer tires. Brakes for the trailer and the controller for it. Front clam clearance on the trailer. Door clearance on the trailer so you can get out.

·
Registered
6,293 Posts
There is an extra hassle factor.