The Lotus Cars Community banner

1 - 20 of 97 Posts

·
Premium Member
260 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I received a call from Lotus USA today regarding my 2013 NA IPS Evora and the problems I have experienced, which are very lengthy, but more specifically the transmission problems and the honesty of the conversation was enlightening.

In summary, this is what they had to say regarding the transmission issues the Evora's have incurred and remember, I'm not a mechanic so I am only repeating what I was told/heard.

The engine wiring harness is a "known issue" related to all Evora's produced before late 2013. The parts manufacturer was changed in late 2013 and any Evora's produced after that time should have the new wiring harness and therefore should not experience these types of issues. However, if they were built with the old engine wiring harness, then they are subject to this problem as well. Lotus is NOT doing a recall for this at this time.

Any Evora's produced prior to this time will have this issue at some point. The ONLY permanent fix is to replace the engine wiring harness. The connections are poor with the old engine wiring harness which is why switching to Gold Pins in the past or unplugging and replugging the various connections would have helped but they are only bandaids according to Lotus as the problem will reoccur at some point.

They also said that there is "built up resistance" in the old engine wiring harness and that is what is causing the problem. If given enough time, the resistance will dissipate and the dashboard lights will disappear, which many of us have seen when turning the car off and then back on. Dealers would also see this and then think everything was fine and just apply the latest software updates and say that it was fixed but that was just masking the issue as the software does "NOTHING" to address this issue.