The Lotus Cars Community banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
286 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My 2005 Elise came with a trickle charger attached to the battery, but I have never used it as the battery was brand new and up until my recent accident (still in the shop), I drove many times per week. Now that the driving season is coming to an end, I started looking at the manual for the trickle charger. I was surprised to see that there are so many warnings about hydrogen explosions! It's quite nerve wracking as I've never used one of these devices before. To make matters slightly worse, my battery is enclosed in some sort of box in the trunk of my Elise so I'm unable to see it. That confined space also makes me consider the possibility of hydrogen build up.

How do you know if a trickle charger is functioning properly? Do you take precautions for hydrogen build up? It would be an awful mishap to have something go terribly wrong while your car is just sitting still on a charger.

Thanks for any advice!

·
Premium Member
2005 Elise LSS Saffron Yellow
761 Posts
OK, step 1: relax. The lawyers make them put the explosion warnings in for any battery charger. You're not going to have this problem.

Step 2: what make and model of trickle charger is it? I'm guessing it's something like a battery minder or a battery tender. If so, really all you need to do is hook it up and go - the lights will tell you if it's happy or not.

·
Registered
286 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
OK, step 1: relax. The lawyers make them put the explosion warnings in for any battery charger. You're not going to have this problem.

Step 2: what make and model of trickle charger is it? I'm guessing it's something like a battery minder or a battery tender. If so, really all you need to do is hook it up and go - the lights will tell you if it's happy or not.