The Lotus Cars Community banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
2005 Turbo Elise
211 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So since I am new to the forced induction gig and Lotus I will reach out here. As we all know I an the happy owner of @thangcu35 turbo swap Elise project. It has been running well and have not driven it much or driven it hard.... never even hit the 2nd cam until this weekend. Just exploring the car and tiding up some things on it. I was out for an hour run around town and decided to do a couple hard 4th gear pulls on the highway to see how she felt and hit the 2nd cam. I loved the power.... a bit strong for such a light car. Anyways drove a bit more and returned home. Lifted the clam to find a bunch of oil blasted out of the Tial QRJ BOV all over the clam wall and engine. I cleaned uo the outside of the BOV before I thought of taking pictures so you can't see much on it but it is everywhere else. I have not seen anything like this on the other drives.

So I need some guidance..... is this normal? Is the turbo shot already? Just blowing out the cobwebs or residual old oil build up in the intake track? The BOV is just upstream of the turbo. Cylinder compression was 205-210 psi across when I got the car in May. Interestingly the oil is dark black and stinks like 5yr old 20k miles oil....yet I changed it 3 weeks ago and if you pull the dipstick it is still crystal clean.

42,500 miles
swap was done about 7k ago
target boost is supposed to be 10psi on 93oct

Tableware Kitchen utensil Automotive tire Cutlery Automotive lighting

Automotive tire Motor vehicle Gas Auto part Metal

Aluminium foil Automotive tire Hood Automotive lighting Motor vehicle

Automotive fuel system Automotive tire Motor vehicle Automotive exhaust Automotive design

·
Registered
4,986 Posts
I'd say blown seal, but that's because 100% of the time I have witnessed oil in the intake, it was a blown turbo seal. I've only seen it once, but 100% nonetheless.

·
Registered
2017 Evora 400