The Lotus Cars Community banner

1 - 20 of 48 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to driving the Elise. I feel that the car could carry much more speed into a corner but each time I try to take a corner a little faster, I get a bunch of squealing from the front outside tire. Trail braking seems to help keep the nose tucked in but I feel I am scrubbing off precious speed that the car should be able to handle. The tires are inflated to factory specs and only have about 4K miles n them - they are yoko advantage as spece. Advice?

·
Administrator
4,989 Posts
What kind of tire again?

·
Administrator
4,989 Posts

·
Premium Member
2006 Exige
641 Posts
I am new to driving the Elise. I feel that the car could carry much more speed into a corner but each time I try to take a corner a little faster, I get a bunch of squealing from the front outside tire. Trail braking seems to help keep the nose tucked in but I feel I am scrubbing off precious speed that the car should be able to handle. The tires are inflated to factory specs and only have about 4K miles n them - they are yoko advantage as spece. Advice?
What is the date on the tires?As you have probably read you need at least 2.2deg camber in front.

Reactions: 6TVRs+

·
Addict
2007 Lotus Exige S
1,493 Posts
What is your track history? What is your alignment? Factory pressure at cold and 4k mile tires could be part of the issue.

·
Registered
5,393 Posts
Do all the mechanical stuff suggested: Tire pressures; alignment; etc.

These cars are unencumbered analog, so there's no computerized traction control, torque vectoring, yaw control, etc. It's ALL you, the driver! Understeer is the Elise/Exige "talking" to you. Listen, what's it telling you?