The Lotus Cars Community banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
465 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys,

Thinking about swapping the suspension of my Elise. I'm still new in AutoX but I have touring suspension and while it's not bad, it could be improved...

Now, I have the option to buy a used LSS setup for roughly $350. Will this give a noticeable difference between stock ? I know that springs are firmer.

Or should I take a anti-roll bar instead ?

I'm not ready to drop $2k+ for new coilovers.

Thank you!

·
Registered
5,160 Posts
You mean you have the base suspension? There is no touring suspension.

What kind of tires are you running? If on street tires, I don't think it's worth switching for $350. Instead I would maximize front camber by pulling the front camber shims. Personally I don't like what only a front sway bar does for track handling, but they are popular with auto-xers. If you are not an experienced driver, then the base suspension should tide you over for a while. Save your $$ until a used track pack suspension or other coilover comes available.

·
Registered
358 Posts
Yes there *is* a touring suspension. It comes with the touring wheels.
J/k -:|

Sent from my Autoguide iPhone app

·
Registered
2,360 Posts
Yes it is a huge upgrade value for 350$. If you plan to keep the stock narrow wheels I would not recomend a sway bar.

Go ahead call the wheels and suspention touring. Everybody knows what you mean and it good to help train some of the semantics enthusiests to be more tolerant :)

·
Premium Member
2,637 Posts