The Lotus Cars Community banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I went to check out a 2011 manual Evora w/ 30k miles recently that is for sale. This was my first time seeing one in person and I was quite impressed with the overall aesthetics. Upon start up the owner turned the key to the 'on/accessory' position for a second prior to actually starting the engine. He said the electronic pump had to prime and indeed there was a noise coming from the rear of the car when he did that. The car started up just fine and there were no other issues, but I wasn't sure if that is normal for Evoras. Again, never having seen one in person I don't know if that is accurate. I have another post in the "General Discussion" section regarding PPI and that is certainly something I would get done, just wanted to check about the noise.

I'm not a mechanic by any stretch, so I mainly looked over the overall condition and commonly known 'quirks' after reading the great posts here such as:
asked about window regulators- current owner said they have never had any issues
headlights- looked a little faded/foggy, but no major peeling
clutch- would need an experienced mechanic to give me feedback, I am new to manual transmissions
lift gate struts- worn out
airbag cover warping-perfectly flat
driver seat wear on the outer side- noticeable, but not major
exterior a-pillar- driver side cracked

The exhaust looked after market. The owner showed me the original window sticker and it does have the 'sport gearbox' and 'sport pack' options. The owner said the sport pack included the 'burnt tip' exhaust (the ends of the chrome tips looked intentionally discolored).

Mainly just looking for feedback on the noise at start up and what other things I should look out for outside of getting a PPI done. Thanks!

·
Happy To Be Here
2013 Lotus Evora IPS - Carbon Gray
856 Posts