The Lotus Cars Community banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
593 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I wanted to change my oil tonight after work, so I am making my list and checking it twice. Let me preface this with the fact that I've never worked on a car before... ever. No oil changes, really nothing, just a lot to TLC and maybe topping fluids off.

I've read and printed out the sand musuem's tutorial and watched a few youtube videos. I think I can do this, it doesn't seem hard. My question is, should I give this a try; probably alone, maybe with my son to help who is a newb as well?

I was planning on heading to the LotusCorps Rockford drive tomorrow and have a second thought that I could $%*@ everything up and be stuck in the process because I didn't have the right tool or missed something.

My to buy list to do this tonight:

6 Pack of Beer
4 Hockey Pucks
(Borrow a floor jack and 2 jack stands from buddy at work)
Allen head wrench
A metric socket set
Torque wrench (good one)
Oil Filer Removal Tool
6 Quarts of 5w-40 (plan on using almost 5, so I have an extra to take tomorrow)
Mobil1 M1103 Oil Filter and plug gasket from Adv Auto <-- not sure if this is equivalent to the Toyota 90915-10004 filter. I can get a YzzF1 at the local Toyota shop if need be.
Note to self to check Toe-Links (I'll probably just visually inspect these and take a photo as well) I have 2 diagrams and will torque these to: 44 ft-lb (60 NM).

Wish me luck, I'm busting my cherry here.

Madison

·
Registered
2,360 Posts
I wanted to change my oil tonight after work, so I am making my list and checking it twice. Let me preface this with the fact that I've never worked on a car before... ever. No oil changes, really nothing, just a lot to TLC and maybe topping fluids off.