The Lotus Cars Community banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
110 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Sorry for the Essay, I'm by no means an auto mechanic, engine builder, tuner, engineer, etc...

I purchased my car in January with 9,000km on it (about 5,500 miles). 06 Elise/ Chrome Orange track pack, touring pack, starsheild, traction control.

I put 3,000 km on the vehicle from January to March and decided I wanted more power. When in second cam the car was great but my feeling was it could be better. Car pulled hard, ran strong with no issues and never a check engine light.

at 12,000km I decided I wanted to supercharge the car. After lots of reading on Elisetalk I decided I wanted to buy the Katana. When I called Sector 111 to place an order they were currently out of stock. A few days later BWR released the 06+ SC kit and posted a Dyno chart that looked nice and smooth with a higher peak horse power than sector 111.

I basically ordered the 06 kit a day after its release. Diane was very friendly, the customer service was great and the kit arrived a few days later. When the kit arrived I got a call from Fred telling me to hold off on the install because a stronger Alternator bracket had been developed. It was sent to me quickly at no cost and showed me that BWR recognized a potential weak spot and rectified it.

Kit got installed; PES flashed the ECU car fired up first try. Drove around for the first day and after a couple hours of driving a CEL appeared. Read the code and it showed “P0172 system too rich bank 1”. I called Fred and he told me that this was nothing to really worry about and that a revised tune was in the works that would solve this problem.

This code appeared almost daily for three weeks and for the first week I would reset the code and then I got tired of resetting the code.

During this time I also had 3 other codes appear on maybe 5 different occasions. I called Fred regarding these codes and he told me that he would look into them.