The Lotus Cars Community banner
1 - 20 of 201 Posts

·
Registered
122 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Someone posted something about looking for an architect and there were quite a few here so it got me wondering—we all drive interesting cars, what do you do to make that possible.

My bet is a lot of us have pretty “cool” jobs if we were interested in such quirky cars.

·
Administrator
2005 Lotus Elise
2,500 Posts
Engineer at NASA, working on launching America's next Moon rocket, the SLS, early next year in 2022. This is one big a** vehicle. I've been working at Kennedy Space Center since 1984.

Infrastructure Gas Engineering Aircraft engine Urban design

Gas Engineering Cylinder Composite material Rocket

Amber Fixture City Tints and shades Engineering
Cloud Gesture Finger Thumb Rocket

·
Registered
431 Posts
retired....
previously police (like to drive pursuits!)

Reactions: Midenginer

·
Registered
2006 Lotus Elise BRG
457 Posts
Previously was an all wheel drive system Engineer. Started doing development of transfer cases, eventually did software to control center and rear differentials for both traction and vehicle stability. Involved lots of travel to many cool places. Worked with most OEMs over the years, the ones with AWD vehicles anyway.
That company moved out of town as I was starting a family so I left to stay local. Now I'm slumming it as an Aerospace Hydraulics Engineer.
I drove countless vehicles at almost every vehicle development facility in the world. So far no one has let me fly or taxi an aircraft. 😞

·
Registered
2005 Starlight Black Lotus Elise
72 Posts
Can't say my job is that interesting, but I'm a computer/network technician. I feel like an IT everyman at my current job, doing regular desktop support, network switch changes, and the occasional database work.

·
Registered
2017 Lotus Evora 400 manual, 2009 Rossion Q1, 2019 Jeep Cherokee Trailhawk
771 Posts