Votes: 2 2.9%

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .
1 - 20 of 40 Posts

·
Registered
3,162 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
You've been layed off with 19 weeks of severance pay as well as unemployment money. What to do, what to do? That is the question.
Remember - take a new job and you lose the unemployment which will be ~$1,400.00/month.

·
Registered
307 Posts
First job with ok pay. But keep looking for a better one.

That's what you do with women right?:coolnana:

·
Registered
1,831 Posts
I would take a month off. But thats just me.. I have been working pretty much everyday for the last 2 years. Only holidays and weekends off.. Can you imagine that? 2 years straight.. No vacations..

·
Registered
4,164 Posts
I would take a month off. But thats just me.. I have been working pretty much everyday for the last 2 years. Only holidays and weekends off.. Can you imagine that? 2 years straight.. No vacations..
Why?

·
Registered
12,374 Posts
Get as job as soon as you can.

Nothing like a gap in employment to signal a problem to prospective employers (it's one of the first things I check when looking at someone's resume). Most professional organizations don't take "I took some time off to find myself:shrug:" as a good sign...

·
Registered
4,450 Posts
Engineering - outlook actually looks promising from jobs posted at indeed.com. Salaries aren't usually listed in the upper ranks, though.
so you're a senior engineer probably with a stable financial condition...

enjoy some time off.. ESPECIALLY if you don't normally take regular vacations. volunteer with habitat for humanity, or some other organization that does good. lounge on the sofa. drink some beer. finish off the honey-do list and maybe get a head start on the springtime stuff... maybe a new flower bed. when track season comes around do a few extra days. enjoy the opportunity that has presented itself.

then get put yer boots back on and go back at the grind.