The Lotus Cars Community banner

1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Tire abuser
773 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have read that you don't want a supercharged motor to run lean, but what does that really mean? I have a wideband in my car and run about 10 at WOT, is that rich or lean? Does this ideal number vary from engine to engine?

·
** The Enforcer **
7,594 Posts
I have read that you don't want a supercharged motor to run lean, but what does that really mean? I have a wideband in my car and run about 10 at WOT, is that rich or lean? Does this ideal number vary from engine to engine?
10 is rich. 14.7 is stoichiometric.

San

·
Registered
1,431 Posts
14.7 is perfect... but typically you want it to richen up at WOT. I am no expert, but 10 seems really rich. I suppose that's neither here nor there because ultimately it was up to your tuner to decide on that.

·
Vendor
6,306 Posts
14.7 is not "perfect" for making power. It's impossible to make best power at 14.7. For NA, best power is around 13:1. Best power for SC is usually 11.5-12.5...

10.0:1 on NA is way too rich. Can run upper 10's with FI, but not needed. Low 10's are simply too rich. Upper 10s is just using more gas than what's needed. For most SC applications, you should be looking for 11s and 12s...

·
Banned
3,229 Posts
I'm starting a philosophical discussion now; If you need to be that rich (12:1) then my guess would be that the combustion chamber is a very poor design in this engine... What other reasons would the mixture not mix? The other potential design problem would be ignition...the spark plug is not in an ideal spot... again poor combustion chamber design. Anybody else have any thoughts or ideas?

Phil, is there a piston that is better for mixture that you have noticed?

·
Tire abuser
773 Posts
Discussion Starter #6