The Lotus Cars Community banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm considering the Elise for a daily driver. The small size is fine (a plus, actually - I've been driving a Miata for over 10 years and a Fiat Spyder before that) but if it leaked regularly...well, that'd be a problem. Especially bad would be leaks while driving or parked as opposed to a water dump when you opened the doors.

Does anyone know if the stock cloth top seals well? How about the other options. The stock hard top? That cool autostyle t-top?

Perhaps ideal for this car would be a two-piece hard top that you could store in the trunk and forget about the soft top altogether. It'd be faster to put on and take off, and presumably seal better as well.

·
Supporting Vendor
4,146 Posts
I've read the S2 soft top is much better than the S1. If I were you I'd get the factory hard top. I assume it will give the best seal and security. Plus if you track the car, you can have a little extra protection.

I am ordering it. Along with a certain brash color....:D

·
Registered
2,262 Posts
I don't own a car that doesn't leak. I'm not even sure why my Jeep has a top on - you get just as wet either way. And the damn M is little more than than a collection point for rainwater. AHAHA!!!

I think I need to move to someplace dryer.

·
Forum Founder
29,083 Posts
What is this rain you talk about? :)

Randy (in Sunny San Diego)

·
Registered
36 Posts
Leaking, of course it will leak

I sure hope it leeks. Is there anyone on this site that has driven a lotus in the rain and not had it leak. I know personally my best experiences in the europa have been trying to get home as fast as I could with water pouring on my leg and into my shoes in the footwell. All this business about great handling, hah! we all know what owning a lotus is really about.

Jim
(If it doesn't leak, then I'll have to drive without the top):D

·
Forum Founder
29,083 Posts
So... we were wondering who brought the rain! :)