The Lotus Cars Community banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Greetings from Southwestern Pennsylvania!

I've been viewing the forum as a guest for a few months and finally decided to register, although it's not like I'll have much to contribute. I've loved the look of the Elise since I first saw it in 2005 and have since dreamed of someday owning one. I'll be hitting the big 4-0 next year, and I'm really starting to think that an Elise would be my perfect midlife crisis car.:rolleyes:

I would love to find a 2005 or 2006 Magnetic Blue Elise with a hard top and black interior. I could compromise on the interior, and maybe live without the hard top, but it has to be Magnetic Blue. That's the color I fell in love with!

I'm still deciding if this is a goal or just a dream, but I think I would pull the trigger if the right car came along. Randy Chase's daily driver thread definitely made me think twice about an Elise, but didn't completely scare me away! Southwestern PA is probably not the ideal location for an Elise (and probably why most of the used ones for sale seem to be in CA). Many of our roads and parking lots resemble IED test sites, and snow and ice (along with road salt) start around November, with the sun not returning until about May.

My biggest concern is whether I will enjoy driving a car - any car. Let me explain: I've only owned SUVs for the past 20 years. All of my family owns SUVs, and I can't remember the last time I drove a car. I'm concerned about feeling really uncomfortable sitting so close to the road. I don't intend to track the Elise, and it certainly won't be a daily driver, but with no chance to test drive one, I'm hoping that if I find the right car, I'll enjoy driving it as much as I enjoy looking at it.

Thanks for letting me ramble, and I look forward to hanging out here, learning from all of you, and maybe even finding my car here.

Mark

·
Registered
7,248 Posts
You only live one time.

·