The Lotus Cars Community banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
1,203 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have two small scratches on either side where others have opened their car doors and made contact. Eventually I'm expecting the same on the front and rear plastic bumpers, etc.

I'm curious, will wrapping the car protect the finish against small rock chips and door dings and so on? It's the same price to wrap with with a color as with clear 3M. I was thinking it might be fun to go with a matte grey. Or is it so thin that it won't make a difference?

·
Registered
581 Posts
do they wrap over the clear bra or it has to be taken off before the wrap is applied.

·
Gamera The Atomic Turtle
3,349 Posts
i am no expert, but i would bet there is some protection.

·
Premium Member
4,559 Posts
do they wrap over the clear bra or it has to be taken off before the wrap is applied.
I wrapped my 430 previously from black to satin pearl white. Looked awesome.
Yes it does protect the paint.
You can wrap over clear bra, you will just see the seam through the wrap.
Fully reversible.

·
Registered
194 Posts
I have my M3 wrapped and i love it. Seems to offer some protection. Thinking about getting the Evora S wrapped this spring.

·
Registered
4,715 Posts
It depends largely on what insurance says, but I am debating on wrapping over some fiberglass repairs instead of repainting. The guys I talked to want about $800 for the wrap, $1500 for the install. What's the general feeling here? Worth the savings compared to paint? Obviously it isn't permanent since the material is not as durable.

Given the curves of the Elise, is it something a novice can do in one try? If it takes two then I might as well have the pros do it.

Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App

·
Registered
2,339 Posts